Thursday, November 10, 2016

Difficult and Inconvenient Times

You'd think matters were bad enough in the US soon with the kind of president that would prompt the US to issue a No Fly Zone, plans for Regime Change and a drone fest if it was any other country where an irresponsible madman would have access to weapons of mass destruction and twitter.

But now Microsoft comes in to make life for their customers a little worse still.

After the recent upgrade of Outlook.com it turns out that mail can be randomly sent to anyone, which is tactfully worded to cause the least alarm while still convincing all users that they absolutely must go through a tedious step-by-step procedure to help correct the force fed update:
unintended recipients getting added when replying to emails, or other issues 
This is also an alarming paragraph:

Thank you for being an Outlook.com customer. We recognize that changes like this can be difficult and inconvenient at times. We bring a change like this only after thoughtful consideration. In this case, we are confident that you will love the benefits and performance of the new Outlook.com.
The "thank you..." sounds much like an attempt by the captain of an airplane in distress to calm down his panicked load of passengers. As if the passengers have an easy way to opt out of being on board at this time.  The airline assures every passenger that they all may survive these difficult and inconvenient times if they follow the instructions precisely. The sudden drop in cabin pressure and random stuff flying around has been done after careful consideration and one is confident that everyone will be so relieved if and when landed, that the benefits of this enhanced performance will be truly appreciated.

What surprises me most is the FAQ at the end.

This message has been sent out in a great hurry, even skipping the translations in order not to lose any time, and still there have already been Frequently Asked Questions?

Or is it Fiercely Anticipated Questions.

Outlook.com seems a product to avoid.


Outlook.com
Action Required: Re-connect Outlook 2016/2013 to Outlook.com after upgrade
Earlier this year we introduced the new Outlook.com, which helps you focus on what matters, collaborate effortlessly, and get more done. As part of the Outlook.com upgrade, we have moved your account to a more secure and reliable infrastructure.
Now that your Outlook.com account has been upgraded, you’ll need to re-connect Outlook 2016 or Outlook 2013 to your Outlook.com account to ensure the best experience. If you do not re-connect to your upgraded Outlook.com account, you may experience email or calendar sync issues, unintended recipients getting added when replying to emails, or other issues listed  here
Action Required: Please follow the steps below based on the number of accounts you have connected to Outlook 2016/2013.
Option 1: If Outlook.com is the primary or only account you are accessing via Outlook 2016/2013:
Create a new Outlook profile and then add your Outlook.com account when prompted.
Note that you do not need to delete the old profile first and can refer to it to get the new one set up.  Once you have the new profile set up, you should select to “Always use this profile” option, or delete the old profile. 
Option 2: If you have multiple accounts in an Outlook 2016/2013 profile: 
First, remove your account from your existing profile. Refer to "Remove an email account” section of this article.
Then, re-add your Outlook.com account to your existing profile.
Note: For both the options above, when you add your account (via File > Account), enter your Name, Email, and Password and let Outlook automatically configure your account. 
Thank you for being an Outlook.com customer. We recognize that changes like this can be difficult and inconvenient at times. We bring a change like this only after thoughtful consideration. In this case, we are confident that you will love the benefits and performance of the new Outlook.com
Sincerely,
The Outlook.com team 
Note: Given this requires action by you, we wanted to send you this notice right away in English and will follow up with the same information in your preferred language soon.
FAQ:
Q. What happens if I don’t re-connect my Outlook.com account to Outlook 2016 or 2013 after upgrade?
A. If you are accessing your Outlook.com emails via Outlook 2013 or Outlook 2016, we recommend following the steps above to re-connect your Outlook.com account to Outlook 2016/2013 to ensure the best upgrade experience and to avoid any issues. If you need help with any of the steps above or have follow-up questions, please refer to the support article here.
Q. Will I lose any data if I delete my old Outlook.com account? 
A. No, you will not lose any Outlook.com data by deleting your account. 
Q. Where can I get help if I have trouble reconnecting my Outlook.com account to Outlook 2013 or 2016? 
A. For detailed step-by-step instructions, please refer to the help article here.

No comments:

Post a Comment